States of India and Union Territories with their Capital and Year of Establishment.

By : Samarjeet Singh  |  Updated On : 10 Jan, 2021

States of India and Union Territories with their Capital and Year of Establishment.

India is the seventh largest country in the world and also the second most populous country in the world. Our country is in southern Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by the parliamentary form of government. If it becomes very difficult to manage a large country from one place, then the Indian Constitution empowers the central government to create states. This article is about the list of states and capitals of India along with the established year.

Sometimes it becomes difficult for many students to remember the name of the states, especially the union territory and the capital of the country.

States, Union Territories and their capitals.

S. No.State NameCapitalFoundation Day
1Andra PradeshHyderabad (proposed capital Amravati)1 November 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 February 1987
3AssamDispur26 January 1950
4OdisaBhubaneswar26 January 1950
5Uttar PradeshLucknow26 January 1950
6UttarakhandDehradun (Winter) Garrasain (Summer)9 November 2000
7KarnatakBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 November 1956
8KeralThiruvananthapuram1 November 1956
9GoaPanaji30 May 1987
10GujratGandhinagar1 May 1960
11ChhatisgarhRaipur1 November 2000
12JharkhandRanchi15 November 2000
13Tamil NaduChennai26 January 1950
14TelanganaHyderabad2 June 2014
15NagalandKohima1 December 1963
16West BengalKolkata1 November 1956
17PunjabChandigarh1 November 1956
18BiharPatna26 January 1950
19Madhya PradeshBhopal1 November 1956
20MaharashtraMumbai1 May 1960
21ManipurImphal21 January 1972
22MeghalayaShillong21 January 1972
23MizoramAizawl20 February 1987
24RajashthanJaipur1 November 1956
25SikkimGangtok16 May 1975
26HaryanaChandigarh1 November 1966
27Himachal PradeshShimla25 January 1971
28TripuraAgartala 21 January 1972
S. No.Name of union territoriesCapitalFoundation Day
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 November 1956
2ChandigarhChandigarh1 November 1966
3Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer) Jammu (Winter)31 October 2019
4Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman26 January 2020
5DelhiNew Delhi9 May 1905
6PondicherryPondicherry1 November 1954
7LadakhLeh31 October 2019
8LakshadweepKavarti1 November 1956